Research Pole on India and South Asia (PRIAS)

PRIAS provides a basis for the development of an interuniversity and multidisciplinary research team that covers a world region characterized by its distinctive social, economic, and geopolitical features. It facilitates dialogue between specialists on India and South Asia.

South Asia consists of Pakistan, India, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, the Maldives, and Sri Lanka. Despite the mounting demographic, economic, and geopolitical importance of these seven countries, previously, there were no reference centres on this region in Quebec. All too often, it is associated with issues pertaining to Asia in general and Southeast Asia in particular.

PRIAS is an affiliated unit to CÉRIUM.

PRIAS research areas:

1. Cultural diversity in South Asia
2. Contemporary challenges
3. India and South Asia in the world

Detailed view of research areas


Karine Bates (2007-...)


Gabriel C. Goyette